Dropbox spooks users with new AI features that send data to OpenAI when used

AI feature turned on by default worries users; Dropbox responds to concerns.

news quickly spread on social media about a new enabled-by-default Dropbox setting

that shares Dropbox data with OpenAI for an experimental AI-powered search feature

but Dropbox says data is only shared if the feature is actively being used

Dropbox says that user data shared with third-party AI partners isn't used to train AI models

and is deleted within 30 days

Even with assurances of data privacy laid out by Dropbox on an AI privacy FAQ page,

the discovery that the setting had been enabled by default upset some Dropbox users.

The setting was first noticed by writer Winifred Burton,

who shared information about the Third-party AI setting through Bluesky on Tuesday